Schuss, Messenger and Buque receive WLA Awards

The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is thrilled to start announcing the 2018 team and individual award winners, as voted by the Board of Governors in consultation with their team executives and staff.

First-Team All-Stars

Goalie – Frank Scigliano (Maple Ridge)

Defence – Mike Messenger (New Westminster), Drew Belgrave (Nanaimo)

Forward – Curtis Dickson (Maple Ridge), Logan Schuss (New Westminster), Casey Jackson (Victoria)

Second-Team All-Stars

Goalie – Alexis Buque (New Westminster)

Defence –Jordan Gilles (Nanaimo), Steve Priolo (Victoria)

Forward – Chase Fraser (Nanaimo), Eli McLaughlin (Burnaby), Jesse King (Victoria)

The Leo Nicholson Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Goaltender was donated by H.N. Delmonico, and is awarded per his wishes to a goaltender who displays outstanding goal keeping ability all season, regardless of the statistics or standing of his team. This year’s winner is Frank Scigliano from the Maple Ridge Burrards.

The Gordon C. Nicholson Memorial Award for Outstanding Defensive Player was donated by the Nicholson family in memory of this former WLA Commissioner and long-time friend of lacrosse. It is awarded to a player demonstrating outstanding defensive abilities and possessing leadership qualities on and off the floor. This year’s winner is Mike Messenger from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Commission Trophy for Most Outstanding Player was donated by the members of the 1958 Inter-City Box Lacrosse League Commission, and is awarded to the overall most outstanding player in regular season play. This year’s Most Outstanding Player is Logan Schuss of the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Three-Star Award, given annually to the player who achieved the greatest number of “three-star” selections at the conclusion of each game. Players receive four points for a first star selection, three points as a second star, and two points as a third star. This year’s winner, with twenty points, is Logan Schuss from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Denny Huddleston Memorial Award for Regular Season Scoring Champion, is awarded at the end of the regular season to the player who scored the most goals in regular season play. With one hundred six points, this year’s winner is Logan Schuss from the New Westminster Salmonbellies.

The Dorothy Robertson Award for Coach of the Year is awarded to a coach who has been selected as having been a top performer, based on the resources available to him. This year’s winner is Kaleb Toth from the Nanaimo Timbermen.

The Ed Bayley Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the Year is given in memory of Ed Bayley, an outstanding builder of the game of lacrosse in the lower mainland to the league’s outstanding rookie, as voted by the Board of Governors. This year’s winner is Tyler Pace of the Langley Thunder.

new westminister salmon bellies
western lacrosse association


copyright 2019 New Westminster Salmonbellies. All rights reserved.
Powered by Digit Art Designs Ltd.